Fleur Hudig

Fleur Hudig
Head of Corporate Citizenship
I am based in: Amsterdam
THNK connection: THNKer , AMS Class 15

Born in Rotterdam, The Netherlands, as a ‘daughter of a preacher woman’, compassion and fairness were core values in my childhood. My father’s international background, his competitiveness in sports and family focus shaped my identity as much as the caring and intellectual approach of my mom. Aged eleven, always curious and eager to travel abroad, I went to CISV, an international camp. Here I met like-minded boys and girls from all over the world and learned about the change you can make. It started my fascination for international relations and at the same time inspired me to stop eating meat. After a gap year experimenting the Latin way of life in Mexico and Chile, I studied international relations and law at the University of Amsterdam where I was intrigued by environmental and social standards in international business. To pursue my dream of working for an international organisation, I moved to Brussels learning about political dynamics and decision-making at the EU institutions. To be closer to my soon to be husband, I returned to Amsterdam and decided not to pursue a career as a diplomat.